• Imagine Otherwise

    Imagining Otherwise encompasses current and past projects at the FHNW Academy of Art and Design, and strives toward socially transformative educational and design practices and more equitable futures.

    The project started in October 2018, against the backdrop of massive feminist mobilizations, such as NiUnaMenos, Women's March, and Feminist Strike; and the rising demands from the students for design education that counters patriarchal-colonial narratives. Inspired by the research and activism of Palestinian design educator and researcher Danah Abdulla, we joined forces to start imagining design otherwise—a practice that is critical, situated, reflexive, and socially transformative.

    Believing in the transformative potential of design and echoing Colombian anthropologist Arturo Escobar's words, we began asking ourselves: “How can design be infused with a more explicit sense of politics?” How can we participate in the recentering of design education by specifically situating it in relation to structures of inequality, sexism, racism, and colonialism? And how can we disrupt hegemonic epistemologies, ontologies, and systems from within a Eurocentric institution, and strive toward more equitable, pluralistic futures?

    On this website, you can delve into different projects realized since 2018. They do not attempt to answer the aforementioned questions, nor to provide universally replicable solutions. Instead, they invite you to open your mind to alternatives, and to open up spaces of potential for change—as expressed by feminist activist and writer bell hooks: “a space where there is unlimited access to the pleasure and power of knowing, where transformation is possible.”

    Team
    Co-directors: Mayar El-Bakry, Maya Ober and Laura Pregger

    Imagining Otherwise was co-conceived by Maya Ober and Laura Pregger. In 2019, Mayar El-Bakry joined the team to co-curate Educating Otherwise, a continuing education program.





    Corin Gisel
    Lecturer

    Sophie Vögele
    Lecturer

    Jörg Wiesel
    Supporter: Imagining Otherwise

    Deborah Holman
    Lecturer

    Zoy Anastassakis
    Lecturer

    Griselda Flesler
    Lecturer

    Laura Pregger
    co-curator imagining otherwise and Lecturer

    Iyo Bisseck
    Coder Extraordinaire

    Muhammad Jabali
    Lecturer

    Danah Abdulla
    Lecturer

    Tanveer Ahmed
    Lecturer

    Nina Paim
    Lecturer

    Dorothée King
    Lecturer

    Aylin Yildirim–Tschoepe
    Lecturer

    Mat* Avogadro
    Lecturer

    Nadia Lanfranchi
    Lecturer

    Elise Connor
    Lecturer

    Rahel El-Maawi
    Lecturer

    Nina Muehlemann
    Lecturer

    Mayar El Bakry
    co-curator imagining otherwise

    Maya Ober
    co-director Imagining Otherwise and lecturer

    Ornella Galvani
    Lecturer

    Ann Kern
    Lecturer

    Claudia Mareis
    Supporter: Imagining Otherwise

    Parasto Backman
    Lecturer

• Imagine Otherwise

    Imagining Otherwise umfasst aktuelle und vergangene Projekte an der Hochschule für Gestaltung und Kunst FHNW, die nach sozial transformativer Lehr- und Design-Praxis und gerechteren Zukünften streben.

    Das Projekt begann im Oktober 2018, vor dem Hintergrund umfassende feministischer Bewegungen, wie zum Beispiel der NiUnaMenos, dem Women's March, und dem Frauenstreik/feministischer Streik; gleichzeitig stieg seitens unserer Studierenden die Nachfrage für eine Designlehre, die sich patriarchal-kolonialen Narrativen entgegensetzt.

    Inspiriert von der Forschung und dem Aktivismus der palästinensischen Designpädagogin und Forscherin Danah Abdulla, haben wir uns zusammengeschlossen, um uns Design Otherwise (anders) vorzustellen - eine Praxis, die kritisch, verortet, reflexiv und sozial transformativ ist.

    An das Transformationspotentiall von Design glaubend und die Worte des Kolumbianischen Anthropologen Arturo Escobar wiedergebend, begannen wir uns zu fragen: “Wie kann Design von einem expliziteren Sinn für Politik durchdrungen werden?” Wie können wir an einer Rezentrierung der Design Ausbildung teilnehmen, indem wir sie spezifisch mit Strukturen von Ungleichheit, Sexismus, Rassismus und Kolonialismus in Beziehung setzen? Und wie können wir hegemoniale Epistemologien, Ontologien und Systeme aus einer eurozentristischen Institution heraus durchbrechen und nach gerechteren, pluralistischeren Zukünften streben?

    Auf dieser Webseite könnt Ihr verschiedene Projekte erforschen, die seit 2018 umgesetzt wurden. Diese zielen weder darauf ab, die oben genannten Fragen zu beantworten, noch universell anwendbare Lösungen bereitzustellen. Stattdessen laden sie euch ein, euren Verstand für Alternativen zu öffnen und Räume für potentiellen Wandel aufzumachen – wie die feministischen Aktivistin und Autorin bell hooks sagt: einen “ Raum, wo es unbegrenzten Zugang zum Genuss und zur Macht des Wissens gibt, wo Transformation möglich ist (aus dem Englischen: “a space where there is unlimited access to the pleasure and power of knowing, where transformation is possible.”)

    UnserTeam
    Mayar El-Bakry: Co-Leiterin
    Maya Ober: Co-Leiterin
    Laura Pregger: Co-Leiterin

    Imagining Otherwise wurde mitkonzipiert von Maya Ober and Laura Pregger. In 2019 ist Mayar El-Bakry dem Team beigetreten, um Educating Otherwise, ein fortlaufendes Lehrprogramm, zu co-kuratieren





    Muhammad Jabali
    Lehrkraft

    Maya Ober
    Co-Leitung Imagining Otherwise und Lehrkraft

    Aylin Yildirim–Tschoepe
    Lehrkraft

    Sophie Vögele
    Lehrkraft

    Mayar El Bakry
    Co-Leitung Imagining Otherwise und Lehrkraft

    Tanveer Ahmed
    Lehrkraft

    Deborah Holman
    Lehrkraft

    Ann Kern
    Lehrkraft

    Parasto Backman
    Lehrkraft

    Jörg Wiesel
    unterstüzende Person: Imagining Otherwise

    Claudia Mareis
    unterstützende Person: Imagining Otherwise

    Iyo Bisseck
    Coder Extraordinaire

    Danah Abdulla
    Lehrkraft

    Griselda Flesler
    Lehrkraft

    Laura Pregger
    Co-Leitung Imagining Otherwise und Lehrkraft

    Ornella Galvani
    Lehrkraft

    Corin Gisel
    Lehrkraft

    Nadia Lanfranchi
    Lehrkraft

    Zoy Anastassakis
    Lecturer

    Elise Connor
    Lehrkraft

    Nina Muehlemann
    Lehrkraft

    Rahel El-Maawi
    Lehrkraft

    Dorothée King
    Lehrkraft

    Nina Paim
    Lehrkraft

    Mat* Avogadro
    Lehrkraft